7.03.2020 Music

Gabrieli’s Sacrae Symphoniae by Capella Cracoviensis and Oltremontano

The Capella Cracoviensis Choir and the Belgian ensemble Oltremontano, great specialists in the field of wind instruments – historical brass instruments, will perform Sacrae symphoniae by the Venetian composer Giovanni Gabrieli.

The publication of Gabrieli’s Sacrae Symphoniae in 1597 was a milestone in the history of music. This collection of 62 pieces for choirs and instrumental ensembles marks the transition from the ancient world of rigorous a cappella polyphony to the new baroque aesthetics of concert music with solo voices, obligatory instruments and basso continuo. The original edition of Gabrieli’s Sacrae Symphoniae is in the Jagiellonian Library in Kraków.

When: 7 March 2020 at 8 p.m.
Where: Concertgebouw Brugge

Oltremontano: instrumental ensemble
Capella Cracoviensis: vocal ensemble
Wim Becu: direction

More information about the concert: https://www.concertgebouw.be/en/oltremontano-capella-cracoviensis


Scheduled Music