Joseph Conrad Literary Award

Open Call 2021

The Joseph Conrad Literary Award was founded in 2007 by the Polish Institute in Kyiv. It is given to a Ukrainian author for consistency in realization of the creative development, innovative form and universality of the content.

The prize is awarded to a living Ukrainian author less than 40 years of age regardless of their place of residence.

Laureates: Taras Prokhasko (2007), Serhiy Zhadan (2009), Natalka Sniadanko (2011), Tania Maliarchuk (2013), Sofia Andrukhovych (2015), Kateryna Kalytko (2017), Artem Chekh (2019).

The goal of the award is:
to commemorate the figure of Joseph Conrad, in particular:

a) to remind about the prominent writer and emphasize his significance as a symbol of the pan-European, Polish-Ukrainian-British cultural heritage;
b) to turn the attention of Ukrainian elites to the Ukrainian roots of the Poles who achieved international recognition;
c) to emphasize the role of Poland as a country that highly appraises creative achievements of modern Ukrainian authors in the context of the joint Polish-Ukrainian cultural heritage.

Many Poles were born in Ukraine and made contributions to the world cultural treasury (in particular, author Joseph Conrad, artist Kazimir Malevich, dancer Vatslav Nijinsky, composer Karol Szymanowski). Most of these prominent artists are not associated directly neither with Poland nor with Ukraine. The creation of this award makes it possible to remind about the contribution of the Poles who were at the same time the sons and daughters of Ukraine in the forming of the world cultural heritage. The Polish Institute in Kyiv founded the Joseph Conrad Award (2007) and the Kazimir Malevich Award (2008).

Laureates of the award receive the following:

Money reward of 3000 EUR and six months of scholarship in Poland under the program of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland Gaude Polonia.

Candidates for the award can be nominated by Ukrainian and foreign cultural institutions, scientific centers, publishing houses, artistic associations and private persons. 

The laureate is determined by the Polish and Ukrainian jury.